Review: Coming home to you by Liesel Schmidt

untitled (25)Coming home to you by Liesel Schmidt

When one door closes…

Zoë and her fiancé Paul had everything ahead of them. So when Paul dies suddenly, Zoë doesn’t recognise the life she’s left with. Helping a friend by housesitting for a stranger is the last thing she wants to do – but she can’t deny that she needs time away from the memories which crowd her flat. So, collecting the keys, Zoë lets herself into her temporary home.

…another one opens.

Surrounded by a stranger’s belongings – his toothbrush, his favourite records, the pictures on his walls – Zoë begins to build a picture of the flat’s owner, Neil, who is away in the military. Driven by a need to know more, Zoë begins writing to Neil and finds herself feeling an unlikely connection with him. But while some people are destined to share our lives forever, others are sent simply to help us on the way. And for Zoë, a new life is just beginning…

Proof that life can change in the most unexpected of ways, Coming Home to You is the superbly moving debut from Liesel Schmidt, perfect for fans of Cecilia Ahern and Jojo Moyes.”

 

Coming home to you is an amazing debut by Liesel Schmidt. I can not remember the last time a book made me cry like this one. Liesel Schmidt’s beautiful writing is so emotive and empathic, I really felt all of Zoe’s heart break.  The novel really touched me, being in a similar situation, myself- I fully remember the journey of emotions and saying to myself “my life was so well planned, what do I do now?”. Zoe, became rudderless, but serendipity intervened and gave her a new opportunity that she desperately needed.

Coming home to you, is heart breaking, heart warming and will re-instil hope that fate always has an ace up her sleeve for all of us. It is a wonderful book that I will be adding to my list of favourite books. I can not wait to see what Liesel Schmidt writes next. Five stars is not enough.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s