Guest Post: Rebecca Raisin- Christmas Wedding at the Gingerbread Cafe

 

untitled (22)I LOVE Christmas! And with that comes a total adoration for Christmas carols! I’m the girl walking through the shops with a huge smile plastered on my face as I sing along to the music blaring out over head. It can be pan-pipes, instrumental, a kids choir, it doesn’t matter, if it’s Christmassy – I love it!

I’m one of those people who has kind of hyper-emotional reactions to anything. For example if I find something funny, I can laugh for DAYS about it. This crazed, belly-holding kind of laughter that makes people shake their heads and wonder if I’m sane. The same thing goes with Christmas music…Tour banner CW

I happen to adore the song Amazing Grace, but uh oh, I find it really quite sad! In that gorgeously haunting way! So seriously, cue the ugly crying! As soon as the opening melody starts, a full-fledged blubber-fest begins…because… it’s so beautiful! And it makes me think of all the things I’m grateful for, and the magic of Christmas and the fact Santa is on his way! It’s probably no surprise that the opening scene of Christmas at the Gingerbread café features, Lil kind of in the same predicament.

Here’s a small excerpt…

Amazing Grace blares out from the speakers above me, and I cry, not delicate, pretty tears, but great big heaves that will puff up my eyes, like a blowfish. That song touches me, always has, always will. With one hand jammed well and truly up the turkey’s behind I sing those mellifluous words as if I’m preaching to a choir. Careful, so my tears don’t swamp the damn bird, I grab another handful of aromatic stuffing. My secret recipe: a mix of pork sausage, pecans, cranberries and crumbled corn bread. Punchy flavors that will seep into the flesh and make your heart sing. The song reaches its crescendo, and my tears turn into a fully-fledged blubber-fest. The doorbell jangles and I realize I can’t wipe my face with my messy hands. Frantic, I try and compose myself as best I can.

“Jesus Mother o’ Mary, ain’t no customers comin’ in here with this kinda carry-on! It’s been two years since that damn fool left you. When you gonna move on, my sweet cherry blossom?”

So in a way, Lil is very similar to me when it comes to her emotions and Christmas music! This theme carries on through the three books, and of course plays a part in her Christmas Wedding! What’s not to love about feeling all sentimental and sweet at this time of year!

As the stories progress, Lil develops and so do her reactions to music, and certainly Amazing Grace. It’s yet to happen to me, I still blubber like a fool, but only when I’m home alone!

Thanks for having me here today, Robyn! And I hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas!

CW DreamcastYou are invited to the wedding of the year!

Snow is falling thick and fast outside the Gingerbread Café and inside, its owner Lily is planning the wedding of the year. Her wedding! She never dreamt it would happen, but this Christmas, she’ll be marrying the man of her dreams – in a Christmas-card-perfect ceremony!

The gingerbread is baking, the dress is fitted and the mistletoe’s in place – for once, everything’s going to plan. That is until her mother-in-law arrives… Suddenly, Lily’s famous cool is being tested like never before and her dream wedding is crumbling before her eyes.

In the blink of a fairylight, the Gingerbread Café has been thrown into chaos! Lily thought she had this wedding wrapped up, but with so much to do before she says ‘I do’, can Lily get to the church on time – and make this Christmas sparkle after all?

Tour banner CWThe Gingerbread Café series:

Christmas at the Gingerbread Cafe

Chocolate Dreams at the Gingerbread Cafe

(The Bookshop on the Corner)

Christmas Wedding at the Gingerbread Café

Find Christmas Wedding at the Gingerbread Café here:

Amazon US http://amzn.to/1qIb9VQ

Amazon UK http://amzn.to/1m7wGWP

Amazon Aust http://bit.ly/1uCJVjx

Itunes http://bit.ly/1manX5S

Google play http://bit.ly/ZnNjTF

Nook http://bit.ly/1ria4OQ

Kobo http://bit.ly/ZtC5Na

Pinterest http://bit.ly/1uF18I4

Goodreads http://bit.ly/1t4h1bA

Find Rebecca here:

https://www.facebook.com/RebeccaRaisinAuthor

http://rebeccaraisin.wordpress.com

www.twitter.com/jaxandwillsmum

Review:

Christmas Wedding at the Gingerbread Café is one of those rare uplifting books that should become a Christmas reading tradition. It encapsulates everything that the season should be in one feel-good package. The entire “Gingerbread” series is phenomenal and must be read. Rebecca Raisin’s created a masterpiece of romantic fiction by adding her own wonderful compassion and sunny disposition- that makes it is impossible not to fall in love with this book and the series. Five stars is not enough because I will be re-reading every year to start the Christmas season off with.

bab0f88160b974706d3a7e1b5887bbfb

Rebecca Raisin is a true bibliophile. This love of books morphed into the desire to write them. She’s been widely published in short story anthologies, and in fiction magazines. And now she is focusing on writing romance.

Rebecca aims to write characters you can see yourself being friends with. People with big hearts who care about relationships and believe in true love.

Leave a Reply

