Review: A heat of the moment thing by Maggie Le Page

untitled (24)A heat of the moment thing by Maggie Le Page
“Becky Jordan has had it with relationships. From now on her time and dedication won’t be lavished on her latest Mr. Wrong—or, worse, Mr. Hell-No!—just the dream travel job which has unexpectedly leapt into her lap. Finally, life is looking great.

Unfortunately, not as great as her sizzling-hot, take-charge new boss. Matt Frobisher is everything she doesn’t want him to be, but if anyone thinks she’ll risk her career on a workplace fling they can think again. No amount of Superman behaviour from him will make her roll over and play Lois.

At least, that’s what her head says. Her heart, however, doesn’t do logical. In desperation she finds herself a Mr. Distraction, one with no strings and plenty of appeal. But Mr. Distraction also comes with unforeseen complications. Kryptonite complications, like Becky’s sister. And when she shows up there’s only one sure thing: not even Superman can prevent the Disaster Fest that’s about to blow Becky’s life apart.

Warning: contains one guy determined to win the girl, one girl determined not to be won, and plenty of heat in the middle.

(This book is intended for readers aged 18+.)

divider-NEW

“A heat of the moment thing” was a fabulous read. I identified with Becky’s disastrous love life as if it was my own. What really hit a cord with me was that Becky, wasn’t perfect, she made her mistakes and paid the consequences- just like in real life. That is what endeared “A heat of the moment thing” to me, it wasn’t based in some fairy realm where everything works out magically; this was set in reality, where we have to work our bums off to get what we want.

I loved the writing style of the book. Becky’s first person narrative, it made her leap from the page and feel like real person. Although, Becky did some things I may not agree with, the novel was so well written – I immediately understood why she did those things and empathized with her.

“A heat of the moment thing” isn’t just your run of the mill chick lit book, it is a refreshing, witty, humorous novel that many of us will relate too from being there ourselves. Becky sure made me laugh and go down memory lane to revisit my own relationship disasters.

Maggie Le Page’s stunning debt is a must read. It is perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella. I highly recommend this enjoyable light-hearted read.

line

Casual_on_couch_2-219x300

Author’s Bio:
With a career that morphed from finance to education to small business, writing fiction is about the last thing her training prepared her for, but Maggie Le Page has never been one to let a little thing like you’re-not-trained-for-this stop her.

When she left full-time work for motherhood she put those sleep-deprived nights to good use, writing (and rewriting) her first book. She published A Heat Of The Moment Thing last year and hasn’t looked back.

These days Maggie lives in Christchurch, New Zealand with her partner of fifteen years and their two children, juggling 
family, part-time work and writing. It’s fair to say her life tends towards ‘chaotic’.

Maggie loves travel, reading and lazy hazy beach days, preferably presented to her as an island holiday combo. She regards a full night’s sleep as a novelty, a whole day spent writing as a luxury, and an evening with great friends, great food and great wine as one of life’s greatest pleasures.
 
Elder Park Book Reviews: What inspired you to write?
Maggie Le Page: Actually, it was more a ‘who’ than a ‘what’. I was travelling with my partner, and we went armed with plenty of books (as you do). We had stopped at a breathtaking little village in the Swiss Alps called Lauterbrunnen and decided to camp there for a few days. That first night I finished a book by Carole Matthews called “A Minor Indiscretion” (fantastic title!) (fun read!) and I thought, hey, I could write something like this. In my defence, Lauterbrunnen is at quite a high altitude…Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland

Long story short, I decided to start writing my own book then and there. I bought an exercise book and started writing by the campfire every night. Needless to say, I soon learned just how hard it is to write a book that reads as effortlessly as Carole Matthews books. So I credit her as my inspiration–and blame her!
EPBR: Do you have a sequel planned for A Heat Of The Moment Thing?
ML: Yes! I have two novels and a novella in the planning stages. They’ll be stories of secondary characters we’ve already got to know quite well in A Heat Of The Moment Thing. 🙂

EPBR:  Which character would you most like to be stuck on a deserted island with?
ML:Definitely the hero, Matt. Not only is he gorgeous 😉 but he is also kind, determined, physically able, and knows how to get the best out of people. With that combo he’s sure to find a way for us to get rescued, or to rescue ourselves. And if not . . . well, at least with him there it won’t be quite such a hardship.
EPBR: I so agree. Matt is a wonderful character is now my new literally crush.
 
EPBR: What are you working on next?
ML:I’m putting the finishing touches on my second novel, The Trouble With Dying, which will be released later this year. I can’t wait! Here’s the blurb:
 
When Faith Carson wakes up on a hospital ceiling looking down on her body in a coma, it’s a bad start to the week. A very bad start. She has no idea who she is or how she got there or why, and the biggest mystery of all is why she married the schmuck who wants her ventilator switched off.
 
As if that’s not enough Faith has a dead gran haunting her, a young daughter missing her, and one devilishly delicious man making her wish she could have a second chance at life.
 
And maybe she can, if she finds a way back to her body and wakes up by Friday. But if she doesn’t, this will be her last bad week–ever.
 
Nate Sutherland decided long ago he’d settle for friendship if he couldn’t have Faith’s heart. But now, as she nears death, he’s going to have to listen to his feelings in a whole new way–and act. Because if he doesn’t, this week will be the worst damn week of his life. He’ll lose everything he’s ever loved.

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review: A heat of the moment thing by Maggie Le Page

    • all I can say is, been there, done that lol Congrads! it was a great book and you deserve all the glory it receives XXXX

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s