Reviews

hesterThe Vintage Girl by Hester Browne

When Evie Nicholson is asked to visit Kettlesheer Castle in Scotland to archive the family heirlooms, she jumps at the chance. Evie’s passion for antiques means that, for her, the castle is a treasure trove of mysteries just waiting to be uncovered.

But in each heirloom lies a story, and in the course of her investigations Evie stumbles upon some long-buried family secrets. Add handsome, gloomy heir Robert McAndrew and a traditional candlelit gala to the mix and Evie’s heart is sent reeling with an enthusiasm that may just extend beyond the Kettlesheer silver.

 

This book was like a fairy tale set in Scottish castle. Evie comes to save the day with her antiques knowledge. Think Cash in the Attic meets Hamish MacBeth.

Vintage girl was a warm and cozy read. I will be looking for more books by this author. Highly recommend for a light hearted read.

witchhuntWitch Hunt by S.M. Reine

A brutal murder. There are scratches on Cèsar Hawke’s arms, a discharged Glock on his coffee table, and a dead woman in his bathtub. Yeah, maybe he brought the waitress home for some fun — he was too drunk to remember it — but he knows for a fact that he didn’t kill her. He’s an agent with the Office of Preternatural Affairs. He doesn’t hurt people. He saves them. The cops disagree. Now Cèsar is running.

The search for a shaman. Isobel Stonecrow speaks with the dead…for the right price. She brings closure to the bereaved and heals broken hearts. But when she resurrects someone for the wrong client, she ends up on the OPA’s most wanted list.

One risky solution. Tracking down Isobel is the last case assigned to Cèsar before he bolts. If he finds her, he can prove that he didn’t kill that waitress. He can clear his name, get his job back, and bring justice to the victim.
She’s just one witch. Cèsar has bagged a dozen witches before.

This is a new S.M. Reine series. It is different from her other series as this one centres around a male and it is not a romance. The only way I can describe it is as a hard-boiled paranormal mystery. I am a big fan of the author and this is just another series to love.

mumTake Mum out by Fiona Gibson

Fiona Gibson’s eagerly awaited new novel is full of dating disasters. Sharply observed and laugh-out-loud funny, its perfect for fans of Tracy Bloom, Kate Long and Tess Stimson.

Three blind dates Two teenage boys messing up her plans And one man who’ll melt Alice’s heart.

‘You need to get back in the saddle…’ Alice despises that phrase. She’s fine being single – with two slothful teenage boys and a meringue business to run, she has enough on her plate without negotiating the troublesome world of modern dating.

However, Alice’s three best friends have other ideas. Each one will present her with an utterly delicious, eligible man – all Alice has to do is pick her favourite.

3 Blind dates- What could go wrong? This was a heart-warming tale about a woman with two teenage boys, getting back into the dating scene.

There were many laugh out loud moments and the humour continued throughout. Fiona Gibson is an excellent story teller and this is one book by her you don’t want to miss. I highly recommend this book for a heart-warming read.

beachLittle Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan

Polly Waterford is recovering from a toxic relationship. Unable to afford their
flat, she has to move miles away from everyone, to a sleepy little seaside
resort in Cornwall, where she lives alone above an abandoned shop.

And so Polly takes out her frustrations on her favourite hobby: making bread. But
what was previously a weekend diversion suddenly becomes far more important as
she pours her emotions into kneading and pounding the dough, and each loaf
becomes better and better. With nuts and seeds, olives and chorizo, with local
honey (courtesy of local bee keeper, Huckle), and with reserves of determination
and creativity Polly never knew she had, she bakes and bakes and bakes . . . And
people start to hear about it.

Sometimes, bread really is life . . . And Polly is about to reclaim hers.

I don’t think you can ever go wrong with Jenny Colgan. This book is no exception. Colgan has a way of creating the perfect place and the most wonderful characters. This book is set in a bakery in Cornwall. Everything is described so beautifully that you can feel the salty air on your skin. You never have to visit Cornwall because the way Jenny Colgan paints it, you feel like you have already been and know it well.

This book will make your mouth water (from the bakery of course) and your heart melt. As always recipes are included in the back and I can’t wait to make my own Bagels. Perfect holiday read and Mother’s day gift.

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s