Feature: Amanda James

stitchA stitch in time saves nine – or does it?

Sarah Yates is a thirty-something history teacher, divorced, disillusioned and desperate to have more excitement in her life. Making all her dreams come true seems about as likely as climbing Everest in stilettos.

Then one evening the doorbell rings and the handsome and mysterious John Needler brings more excitement than Sarah could ever have imagined. John wants Sarah to go back in time …

Sarah is whisked from the Sheffield Blitz to the suffragette movement in London to the Old American West, trying to make sure people find their happy endings. The only question is, will she ever be able to find hers?

Dean Stockwell as "Al" from Quantum Leap

Dean Stockwell as “Al” from Quantum Leap

I really loved this book! Sarah is a stitcher- sent to stitch up time holes. John is a time needle, her handler- kind of like Dean Stockwell from the televsion show Quantum Leap. Together they are able to sew up the time holes and save people.Sarah’s first mission is to WW2 Sheffield. I would say thrown in at the deep end as most of the time she is there, bombs are dropping. Her next mission is Edwardian London. I loved the Upstairs Downstairs references, and Amanda James really made you feel like you were there. Sarah gets into trouble with the lady of the house and ends up blackmailing her.She stitches up the problem and is returned to the present and John.John is a sweet character with a great back story, who is secretly in love with Sarah. At that point Sarah has a crush on him too but doesn’t truly feel how deep until her next mission. After returning from the old west, John and Sarah’s relationship became romantic – but things start to spiral out of control. She is given one last mission. She is sent to the 1920’s to save mankind – no pressure there. Sarah manages to save the day and her relationship with John in plenty of time.This book is fresh and original and I would love for it to develop into a series of books. It puts a different spin on time travel and makes it the most unique book I have read in years. I highly recommend A Stitch in time, it is the perfect holiday read. 

Amanda James has a new book out this week:sea

When love begins with a lie, where will it end?

Doctor Tristan Ainsworth has returned with his family to the idyllic Cornish village close to where he grew up. The past has taught him some hard lessons, but he’ll do anything to make his wife happy – so what’s making her so withdrawn?

Karen Ainsworth daren’t reveal her true feelings, but knows her husband has put up with her moods for too long. A chance to use her extraordinary singing voice may set her free, so why shouldn’t she take it? Surely her past can’t hurt her now?

As a tide of blackmail and betrayal is unleashed to threaten the foundations of their marriage, Karen and Tristan face a difficult question. Is their love strong enough to face the truth when the truth might cost them everything.

amandaI can not wait to read that one. I caught with Mandy to talk about her latest release and this is what she had to say:

As well as my recent time travel novel – A Stitch in Time, I have also loved writing romantic suspense/thrillers, and for a very long time I have read novels that fall broadly within that genre. Dean Koontz is my absolute favourite author, and while not known as a romance writer, he invariably has a love story entwined with his mystery/suspense/thrillers. I guess I unconsciously picked that up along the way, as all of my novels have those elements within them. Two of my novels – Dancing in the Rain and Nature’s Grace (yet to be published) have supernatural/paranormal aspects also.

Somewhere Beyond the Sea is a mystery/suspense set in Cornwall, where all is not what it seems in the household of Dr Tristan and Karen Ainsworth. One of them has a dark secret that is at risk of exposure. But how far will the keeper of the secret go to protect it, and could their marriage survive if all the skeletons were to come tumbling out of the cupboard? I loved writing this book, because I found it a challenge to try to keep the reader guessing who has the secret and what that secret actually is. As a reader I like to try and guess what is going to happen in the story, and ‘who done it’? I don’t like to feel patronized if the plot is too thin or obvious, so trying to leave clues without giving the game away was at times very tricky. I hope I managed it in the end!

If like me you can not get enough of Amanda James’s books, she also has another book published by Crooked Cat Publishing:

righteousHow would you take revenge?

Doctor Alita Ramirez has achieved hard won goals, despite her humble beginnings from a poor Hispanic neighborhood in San Antonio, Texas. When she by chance discovers the truth about her past, she is driven to take drastic action. Alita is prepared to jeopardize everything, even her life, to expose the hypocrisy and cruelty of one man – Robson Cutter.

One of the richest men in San Antonio, Cutter is a pillar of his community. Alita’s quest is to reduce this pillar to dust. She knows a dark secret about Cutter that will bring him to his knees, but exposing the past of such a powerful man requires extreme measures. Will Alita have the strength and determination to succeed? Revenge, retribution and redemption.

 

Have a look at Amanda James’s blog “Mandy’s Musing” for more original short stories, poem, flash fiction, book releases and of course, Mandy’s Musing.

DVDbox somewhereTo continue this weeks theme of “Out of time”, I have to mention one of my favourite films “Somewhere In time”. The film starts with a gorgeous Christopher Reeve falling in love with Jane Seymour from a painting in an old hotel. He then tries to figure out how to travel back in time to meet her. Tomorrow I will tell you how he did it and how you can try too, but for now- I asked my friend Randall Melton to review the film for you from a male perspective.

Somewhere in Time review-by Randall Carl Melton

So many pleasant memories when I think about the film Somewhere in Time. It is a movie that was adapted from the Richard Matheson book, Bid Time Return, and released back in October 1980. It starred Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour in the title roles.

I don’t know what first steered me towards this movie. Most of my friends would call this sci-fi drama/romance movie a “chick” flick. I would say that they are wrong. It has all the elements of a time travel sci-fi movie, without splashy special effects and all. Matheson cleverly built up the story with the start of Richard Collier’s playwriting career. We didn’t know who the elusive Elise McKenna was in those opening moments of the movie. It was the attraction of both main characters that drew me into the story.

reveesand picture

It really started when Richard viewed Elise’s portrait in the Grand Hotel museum. That really got my heart pounding. It put me into the story. How would I feel when I first saw the portrait? I would want to know all about her. I liked how Richard went out to explore the world of time travel. Visiting his college professor and learning more on how to accomplish travelling back in time. And then, finally discovering who that mysterious visitor was at his first play. That really put things into high gear.

My favorite part of the film was when Richard was finally able to attain the ability to travel back in time. I felt the same as he did. There was a sense of urgency to find her. He stumbles, of course, several times, getting himself tossed from the hotel. It is with persistence that Richard finally meets up and convinces Elise to go out on an outing the next day.

janeI could actually feel the love growing between Richard and Elise. Those tender moments in the boat where he is humming his favorite song, quickly captivating Elise’s attention. It was a perfect outing for Richard. He knew at the end of his date with her that she was the one.

Alas, somehow someone would see to it to throw in a monkey wrench to mess things up for Richard. It was clear that Richard was completing with Elise’s manager, William Fawcett Robinson (played by Christopher Plummer), for her attention.  William was going to see that Richard played no part in Elise’s life. Again, so many things in the movie ran true with my life experiences. I know that was another reason why I have held the movie so highly in esteem.

 

somewherloveRobinson’s efforts, at first, worked. But, near the end of the movie, Richard and Elise were finally able to consummate their romance. Fate quickly intervened when Richard discovered the penny in his pocket, sending him back to his own time. And, in the end, Richard finally was reunited with his love. I can say that the end of the movie clearly brought me to tears. I have viewed the film many times in the last 34 years. Each time was as if I was viewing it for the first time. The story will always seem timeless to me.

I encourage all to watch this movie with someone you love.

 

Today’s quiz is “Which woman from Outlander are you?” Also, don’t forget to visit the Facebook page for more book and film recommendations as well as the usual fun.

 

Leave a Reply

