Review: Maid of Milan by Beverley Eikli

milanI have to be honest, when I got this book I thought it was going to be another fluffy Regency bodice ripper romance with some rake in mole skin trousers. Was I
wrong!

This book is nothing like you would expect. The only way I can describe it, is as a Regency version of Dynasty. It has everything, secrets, lies,blackmail, love triangles, death, drug addiction, jealousy, affairs, scandals, oh and some bodice ripping too- the only thing it is missing is Joan Collins. However, I think Mrs. Henley, Adelaide’s mother runs a close second.

Mrs. Henley forces Adelaide to go along with the story that she created in order to save Adelaide, but all it does is eats her away from the inside. She is later put in a position that the only way to get out of one lie is to tell more. No one is who they seem in this book, except for Tristan. Tristan is truly honourable man with a moral compass who repeatedly saves Adelaide.

Adelaide’s only real crime is being young and in love and obeying her mother. Time after time, her loyalty to her mother and her husband are tested. In the end, you learn who the true villain is and why.

The book has a genteel opulence of Anthony Trollope’s The Palliser’s but underneath the waving fans it is all gritty intrigue.This is the first book I read by Beverley Eikli and I can say I am now a fan.

The Maid of Milan gripped me from the start and kept me there. I read it in a day, I just couldn’t put it down. I highly recommend this unique book.

Also by Beverley Eikli:

 

Reluctant Bride coverCan honour and action banish the shadows of old sins?
Emily Micklen has no option after the death of her loving fiancé, Jack, but to marry the scarred, taciturn, soldier who represents her only escape from destitution.

Major Angus McCartney is tormented by the reproachful slate-grey eyes of two strikingly similar women: Jessamine, his dead mistress, and Emily, the unobtainable beauty who is now his reluctant bride.

Emily’s loyalty to Jack’s memory is matched only by Angus’s determination to atone for the past and win his wife with honour and action. As Napoleon cuts a swathe across Europe, Angus is sent to France on a mission of national security, forcing Emily to confront both her allegiance to Jack and her traitorous half-French family.

Angus and Emily may find love, but will the secrets they uncover divide them forever?

 

Here are some great things they are saying about The Reluctant Bride”:

“Eikli creates a enchanting sense of time and place, real emotional conflict and lots of drama.”

“The Reluctant Bride is intriguing, compelling and one that I really enjoyed – I’m very much looking forward to more from Beverley Eikli.”

” This is a tour de force from my favourite regency romance writer, delivering well beyond my expectations.”

2 thoughts on “Review: Maid of Milan by Beverley Eikli

  1. Thank you for that lovely review, Robyn. I got such a kick out having The Maid of Milan referenced so nicely to both ‘Dynasty’ and ‘The Pallisers’. When I was a teenager I read a great deal of Anthony Trollope and was madly in love with the TV series of The Pallisers (with Susan Hampshire being my idol). I watched a little bit of Dynasty and certainly the deceptions and love-triangles were right up my street 🙂

Leave a Reply

