Review: The Wedding Cake Tree by Melanie Hudson

cake treeThe book starts with a mystery and Terry the magic tortoise, who could resist that?. It then goes on to be a fairy tale of self discovery in the most gorgeous locations. Scotland is described in breath taking details. I had to laugh at the Clootie dumpling- most people has no idea what to do with it either.
The progression of Alasdair and Grace’s romance starts out as old fashioned and charming, but the heat definitely gets turned up. Trust me when I say it is all tasteful and you will want an Alasdair of your very own.
I think the book asks the question “How we do we know our parents?”. We think we know them but there are always hidden stories. Most incredible is that Grace gets to retrace her mother’s past.

With every new letter from Grace’s mother, Rosamund, more is revealed, and there are plenty of bomb shells too. As soon as you think the book is going in one direction- Boom!; You are off in another. This is definitely not a run of the mill story.
I sat on the edge of my seat for the last two chapters not wanting it to end, and the author keeps you in a delicious suspense right till the end.
I sighed, as I closed the book and was asked “Mummy, why are you crying?” and all I could answer was “Because it was such a beautiful ending.”
I highly recommend this stunning début and I can not wait to see what Melanie Hudson writes next.

wedding cake tree

I fell in love with the idea of planting a tree to mark special occasions. I found a picture of a wedding cake tree andthought it was gorgeous. The name does not do it justice.

I also found a great site to re-create all of those yummy Scottish dishes mentioned at http://www.rampantscotland.com/recipes/ . For my last treat an interview with theauthor herself on Choc Lit Publishing’s own home page blog
ChocLit-logo-Web3

Leave a Reply

