Review: The Ghost House by Helen Phifer

ghosthouseThe Ghost House by Helen Phifer

There’s not much that scares Annie Graham. Not even the horrors she has witnessed during her years on the police force.

When she agrees to look after her brother’s farmhouse, she finds herself drawn to the crumbling old mansion in the woods nearby. But an innocent exploration of the empty ruin and the discovery of the diary of former resident Alice leaves her more than a little spooked. She knows it holds the secrets to a dark past, and she has to find out more.

What was the terrible truth that Alice uncovered? And how could what happened to her over 100 years ago help solve the murders of young women in the town?

Annie needs to stop the serial killer before she becomes his next victim – but the past comes back to haunt her in ways she could never have expected.

When I picked up this book it really wasn’t what I expected. It exceeded my expectations. This multi threaded novel almost defies genre labeling. There is so much going on but everything is weaved together to tightly that a larger picture is revealed.

I was really impressed by this book. Annie is a great character; She is strong but still human and makes the same mistakes we all do.  I was amazed how the author got inside of the mind of the serial killer and really  showed you his psychotic thought processes. It was bizarre because through his eyes, his actions almost made sense.

It was a perfect blend of Police procedurals without being bogged down with unneccessary details and crime scene descriptions. I do have to mention that it can get a bit gory at times but I assure you it is relevant to the story.

What I was disappointed about, and it has to be said because there are reviews full of it- I feel as if the publisher let the author down. There are many typos, grammatical and formating errors in the early part of the book. This does not in any way diminish the story though. I still give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

I am very excited because Helen Phifer has another book coming out next months and If it is as good as her first one then we are in for a real treat. I already have my copy on pre-order.

secretsThe Secrets of the shadows:

Sophie was afraid of the man in the shadows. He terrified her, but he would always disappear when someone else came. But one day in June 1984, she didn’t escape. He took her.

 When a young woman is found draped over a gravestone in a chilling murder, police officer Annie Graham experiences a familiar sense of dread. A new killer is out there, and her senses tell her there is something eerily different about this case.

When she spots the little girl standing outside her window, she knows that the past is about to catch up with all of them. But can she help right the wrongs of thirty years ago, and stop the killer before it’s too late?

3 thoughts on “Review: The Ghost House by Helen Phifer

  1. I’m still waiting to read this – hands up, I confess. I am a real wuss. One of the many excellent reviews I read indicated that it’s more than a bit scary. I’ve been having real problems sleeping at night and do I want to risk making it worse? :) The reviews have been amazing, and I’m so thrilled for Helen.

    • There were a few moments of scary lol but it really was a good book.It was a modern crime, gothic thriller, and a book about Annie- all at the same time. I can’t wait for the next bookin the series. Not to mention what you are going to do next!

  2. Pingback: Review: The Ghost House by Helen Phifer | thewriteromantics

Leave a Reply

